We Are North Fayette Valley

North Fayette Valley Community School District

    600 N. Pine Street,  PO Box 73 West Union, IA 52175

Clermont, Elgin, Fayette, Hawkeye, Wadena, West Union

North Fayette Valley was created by a vote of the school boards of North Fayette and Valley Community School Districts in February of 2013.  The Decision to Whole Grade share for three years morphed into a five year commitment due to overwhelming support of students, parents and patrons of each district.  The NFV TigerHawks were created by a committee of students who voted the name, adopted the mascot, and determined school colors; columbia blue, silver and black.


A Citizens Advisory committee formed in 2016, and recommended to both districts that a vote to be reorganized be held in February of 2017.  The resolution to reorganize and become North Fayette Valley Community School District was passed in both districts with 95% approval.


NFV’s Mission and Vision reflects the work of 4 district groups; School board members, District Lead Team, SIAC, and High School student council members.  That data was reduced to high frequency descriptors, which include Student Centered, Opportunities, and High Expectations.


From this data the Ad Hoc Committee was tasked to develop 1 or 2 statements for a Mission (What we DO), and a Vision, (What are Graduates will be like) for our new district.  The Ad Hoc Recommends:


The NFV Mission is to;

Ignite Learning; Build Leaders; Achieve Excellence!

  • To ignite learning, is to build a passion and deep desire to learn that lasts a lifetime.
  • Leadership is built through opportunities for student actions, including creativity, confidence and all 21st Century skills.
  • Achieving excellence results from setting high goals and expectations of success for all.


The NFV graduates will be;

Well rounded, engaged citizens impacting the future.

  • Well rounded students have a diverse skill set and broad interests in community, state and national issues.
  • Engaged citizens are people of action (leaders) who can influence positive change and good relationships in community activities.
  • To be impactful they will be empowered with 21st century skills of collaboration, creativity and communication.


The committee members are Sharon Rich, Kirk Jacobsen, Betsy Nefzger, Karen Michelson, Kassie Stansberry, and Duane Willhite.  Sue Thoms, Susan Winter and Carole Nading served as secretaries to the committee.


We are, Proud to be NFV