August 8, 2022 Minutes




Minutes, Regular Meeting of the North Fayette Valley Community School District Board of Education, Monday, August 8, 2022, in the NFV High School Library, 600 N Pine Street, West Union, IA  52142


NFV Board of Education: LaCreasha Schultz, Julie Ahrens, Amanda Rodgers, Stacy 

Cummings, Eileen Schlawin, Richard Klosterman, & Emily Koch.  Student member: Claire Britt     

Others: Superintendent: Joe Griffith, Business Manager: Sue 

Thoms; Superintendent Secretary: Susan Winter; Principals: Lori Westhoff, Micah Gearhart, Travis Elliott, & Chris Miller; Media: Mike VanSickle; Staff: Barb Schroeder; Patrons: Steve Dunt.  


President Cummings called the Regular Meeting of the NFV Board of Education to order at 5:30 pm and Julie Ahrens led the board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.


Roll Call of Board members: Ahrens, Rodgers, Klosterman, Koch, Schlawin, Cummings, & Schultz. 


The agenda was approved as presented with the addition of the following: Abigail Nelson – WUE para, Jenna Fassbinder – Admin Asst at Valley campus, Dorothy Corkery – building maintenance at WUE, Brent Kuker, Gina Kuker, & Lisa Meyer – German Exchange Coordinators, Alissa Wenthe – HS para, Teralee Lidsay – HS para, Approve specs for snow removal, & Approve letting bids for snow removal.  Ahrens/Schultz  Motion Carried 7-0


Public Forum:  President Cummings welcomed and invited comments from the Public.   


Motion to approve the consent agenda with the following items:

  • Minutes of the July 11 regular meeting & July 25 special meeting
  • Review/approve invoices
  • Approve Financial Reports
  • Approve Resignations: Jackie Halstead – WUE para & Tabitha Molyneux – VE para
  • Approve Transfer of Sandy Krivachek from cook to WUE para
  • Approve New Hires: Janet Scroggins – VE para, Abigail Nelson – WUE para, Lynnette Henry – WUE para, Tricia Anderson – VELC Director, Jenna Fassbinder – Admin Asst Valley campus, Dorothy Corkery – WUE Building Maintenance, Brent Kuler, Gina Kuker, & Lisa Meyer – German Exchange coordinators,  Alissa Wenthe – HS para, and Teralee Lidsay – HS para
  • Volunteer Coaches: Gary Bemiss – football, Marc Hines – football, Koby Moore – football, & Paul Amundson – HS drumline
  • Gifts:  Class of 1958 – Ron Koester and Tom Meskel memorials to the fine arts department.  


 Ahrens/Schultz  Motion Carried 7-0



Principals’ reports included the following:  Air Conditioning at WUE, buildings are looking great, new teachers are getting acclimated.  Registration is going well – college class enrollments are up by 21%.


Curriculum Director Nefzger reported on new teacher orientation. Additional trainings are happening as well for special education.  Iowa Safe Schools will be a part of our beginning of the contract days.


Business Thoms reported on the increase in the property insurance for this year as well as the annual audit.


Superintendent’s report included the following: We are at full staff for custodians.  The HVAC units at WUE are coming on line a few at a time.  The WVRF units are running and providing cooling for the facility.  Registration numbers show over 66% registered.  We are seeing a large amount of free and reduced applications.  RAGBRAI went well.  Funds received for showers will go towards a time system for track.  German students will come this fall and Ms. Westhoff will meet with prospective hosting families at Open House.






The Board approved increasing the adult lunch price to $4.13 as required by the USDA.  Koch/Schultz  Motion Carried 7-0


The Board approved updating Policy #401.7 – Employee Travel Compensation and Policy #401.7-R1 – Employee Travel Compensation in one reading.  This will reflect the update in the federal reimbursement rate.  Schlawin/Ahrens  Motion Carried 7-0


The Board approved an increase in the hourly rate for the HSAP coordinator – Kami McCready – from $25 to $30/hour.  Schultz/Schlawin  Motion Carried 7-0


The Board approved the Health Occupations Academy contract with NICC.  Klosterman/Schultz  Motion Carried 7-0


The Board approved the Post-Secondary Option contract with NICC.  Schultz/Ahrens  Motion Carried 7-0


The Board approved the 21st Century Learning agreement for the VELC for the FY23 school year.  Schlawin/Klosterman  Motion Carried 7-0


The Board approved disbursement of metal bleachers at the HS, and a table saw at the Valley site.  Sealed bids will be taken and due on Friday, August 26, 2022 at 1pm.  This will be posted in the Fayette County Leader Union on Wednesday, August 17 and August 24.  Klosterman/Ahrens  Motion Carried 7-0


The Board appointed Julie Ahrens as the IASB Delegate for the special meeting to be held on September 13th.   Schlawin/Schultz   Motion Carried 7-0 


The Board approved the specs for snow removal for the next fiscal year.  Klosterman/Schultz  Motion Carried 7-0


The Board approved letting bids for snow removal.  Klosterman/Koch  Motion Carried 7-0



Rodgers asked for the meal compensation amount for travel be reviewed.  

Interviews for student board members will take place tomorrow.


Motion to adjourn at 6:03 pm. Ahrens/Klosterman  Motion Carried 7-0


______________________________ _____________________________

Stacy Cummings, President Sue Thoms, Business Manager