May 1, 2019 Special Meeting Minutes




Minutes, Special Meeting of the North Fayette Valley Community School District Board of Education, 6:00 p.m., Wednesday May 1, 2019 in the NFV High School Library. 600 North Pine Street, West Union, IA 52175


    NFV Board of Education:    Julie Ahrens, Stacy Cummings, Dawn Daughton, Carolyn Roys, Marc Rue, Eileen Schlawin.  Absent: Alex Soderquist


    Others:            Duane Willhite, Superintendent; Sue Thoms, NFV Business Manager; Carole Nading, Board Secretary, Megan Moleseed, Media; Principals, Todd Wolverton, Micah Gearhart, Susan Winter, Supt. Secretary, John Nielsen,Perry Novak Electric Rep.


Board President Cummings called the special meeting to order at 6:04 p.m. and led the board and audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.


Board members present: Ahrens, Cummings, Daughton, Roys, Rue, Schlawin. Absent: Soderquist.


Motion to approve the agenda with the addition of item 3. C. – Consider 2 hour early out on May 24, 2019. Roys/Schlawin. Motion carried 6-0.


Motion to approve the contract of Justin Heins as Head Football Coach for the 2019-2020 school year. Rue/Roys Motion carried 6-0.


Motion to approve Jessica Waller and Stephanie Wagner as Football Cheerleader coaches for the 2019-2020 school year. Roys/Schlawin. Motion carried 6-0.


Motion to approve the contract of Abigail Korenchan as Elementary Music Teacher for the 2019-2020 school year. Schlawin/Ahrens. Motion carried 6-0. (Ms Korenchan will serve the WUE and Fayette Elementary)


Motion to approve a 2 hour early dismissal on May 24, 2019 (Graduation Day). Rue/Schlawin. Motion carried 6-0.


The board was given a presentation and entered into discussion with John Nielsen, Job Superintendent with Perry Novak Electric regarding converting all NFV school sites to solar energy. Three potential options for payment of the system would be; Pay as you go., Power Purchase Agreement or to borrow from our SAVE funds. Superintendent Willhite will be speaking with another solar installation representative and the board will have additional discussion at their regular May 13, 2019 board meeting.


Motion to adjourn. Rue/Roys. Motion carried 6-0. The board adjourned their special meeting at 7:02 p.m.


____________________________            ______________________________

Stacy Cummings, Board President            Carole Nading, Board Secretary