Month: May 2020

North Fayette Valley Individual Speech Results 5-16-2020

The North Fayette Valley Individual Speech team coached by Tracy Nuss, Kari Straube, and Denise Thompson, participated in a virtual state speech competition on Saturday, May 16. The original speech competition, scheduled for March 14, was canceled due to COVID-19, so the speech season was lengthened to give students a chance to perform either in person or virtually. NFV students rose to the occasion, culminating in 14 Division I ratings out of 16 performances.  Cassandra Moss, Literary Program, Division I Cassandra Moss, After Dinner Speaking, Division I Claire Britt, Public Address, Division I Claire Britt, Original Oratory, Division I Ezra Solheim, Storytelling, Division I Joseph Shea, Acting, Division I John Moellers, Improvisational Acting, Division I Mariya Yasinovska, Literary Program, Division I Pauline Clark, Solo Musical Theater, Division I Ryan Crank, Poetry, Division I Ryan Crank, Spontaneous Speaking, Division I Sage Matt, Public Address, Division II Sierra Kemp, Improvisational Acting, Division II Sophia Durnan, Acting, Division I Zander Britt, Storytelling, Division I Zander Britt, After Dinner Speaking, Division I Despite the All State Speech Festival being canceled for the year, performers were still eligible for All State recognition. …  [Read More]

Northeast Iowa Reading Council Writing Contest & the Iowa Reading Association State Writing Contest

North Fayette Valley High School is proud to announce four winners of both the Northeast Iowa Reading Council Writing Contest & the Iowa Reading Association State Writing Contest. Miranda Johansen, Weller Clark, Baylie Shrubb, and Makenna VanSickle were all first place winners for their grade at the Northeast Iowa Reading Council Creative Writing Contest, allowing their entries to move on to state competition. Miranda Johansen was a first place winner in the Iowa Reading Association’s Creative Writing Contest.  …  [Read More]

May 11, 2020 Board Minutes

NORTH FAYETTE VALLEY COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION    Minutes, Regular Meeting of the North Fayette Valley Community School District Board of Education, Monday, May 11, 2020 in the NFV High School Library, 600 N Pine St, West Union, IA  52175   NFV Board of Education: Julie Ahrens, Stacy Cummings, Emily Koch, LaCreasha McNeese, Carolyn Roys, Eileen Schlawin & Marc Rue    Others: Superintendent: Duane Willhite, Business Manager: Sue Thoms; Public: Megan Molseed – media, and others by Zoom   President Cummings called the Regular Meeting of the NFV Board of Education to order at 6:01 p.m. …  [Read More]

May 11, 2020 Agenda

North Fayette Valley Community School District Monday, May 11, 2020 6:00 p.m. NFV High School Library 600 N. Pine St, West Union, IA 52175   Zoom Link Password NFV2020   TENTATIVE AGENDA   CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL/PLEDGE APPROVE AGENDA Approve Board Secretary Consent Agenda  Approval of Minutes Minutes of meeting April 13 & 27, 2020 Review and approve invoices Approve Financial Reports Approve Contracts and resignations  Resignations – Donna Fink, Bonnie Fisher, Vinnie Otdoerfer New Hires – Volunteer Coach – Receive and approve Gifts  Communications Student Reports Principals Curriculum Director Superintendent  OLD BUSINESS NEW BUSINESS Public Hearing to Amend FY21 Calendar Approve calendar changes Discussion on possibly increasing student days Consider Negotiated agreement for FY21 Certified and exempt staff Approve Technology purchases for FY21 Approve List of Seniors Eligible for Graduation Approve Contracts for FY21 Certified Staff Classified Staff  Exempt Employees  Approve reimbursement of fees Semester Milk @ $14.70 …  [Read More]